+603-7960 3002

Our Beginnings


The Malaysian Intellectual Property Association (MIPA) was registered as a society under the Societies Act 1966 on 21st December 1989 under Registration No. 1017/89 (new Registration No. PPM-005-10-21121989).It was formed to represent all parties involved in the field of intellectual property , including IP practitioners.

The Inaugural General Meeting of MIPA was held on 24th February 1990. The first office bearers of the Association who were elected at the Inaugural meeting were: -

Member Position
Dato' V. L. Kandan President
Mr. Lim Chong Chuan Vice-President
Mr. Lee Tatt Boony Secretary
Mr. Chew Phye Keat Assistant Secretary
Mr. Darryl S C Goon Treasurer


The following Committee Members were also elected to serve the Association:

Ms. Katherine Lim Sui Hong
Mr. T. Kuhanandan
Mr. Wong Sai Fong
Ms. Rebecca Ong
Mr. R. Rajeswaran


The following were registered as members (individual and corporate) of MIPA on the incorporation date of the Association: -

No. Member
1 Mr. Goh Hian Poh
2 Mr. Lim Chong Chuan
3 Dato V. L. Kandan
4 Mr. Wong Sai Fong
5 Mr. Lee Tatt Boon
6 Messrs Skrine & Co
7 Mr. Darryl S C Goon
8 Messrs Mah-Kok & Din
9 Messrs Paul Ang & Co
10 Mr. R Rajeswaran
11 Messrs Chooi & Co
12 Ms. Chew Swee Yoke
13 Messrs Abdul RahmanDaud Daros & Associates
14 Mr. T. Kuhanandan
15 Ms. Katherine Lim Sui Hong
16 Ms. Rebecca Ong
17 Mr. Tan Siak Teng
18 Messrs Ram Rais & Partners
19 Ms. Caroline Francis


Period Office Bearers
21.12.1989 MIPA was formed
Mar 1990 – Mar 2000 President – Dato V L Kandan
Mar 2000 – Mar 2002 President – Dato Mohd Bustaman Abdullah (deceased)
Mar 2002 – June 2004 President – Mr. P Kandia
June 2004 – June 2006 President – Mr Michael Soo
June 2006 – June 2008 President – Mr. Wong Sai Fong
June 2008 – Aug 2008 President – Mr. T Kuhanandan (deceased)
Aug 2008 – June 2010 President – Mr. Desmond Wee Tian Peng
June 2010 – June 2012 President – Mr. Chew Phye Keat
June 2012 – June 2016 President – Mr. Desmond Wee Tian Peng
June 2016 – June 2017 President – Mr. Chew Phye Keat
June 2017 – June 2018 President – Mr. Chew Phye Keat
June 2018 – June 2020 President – Mr. Benjamin John Thompson


It was at the meeting on 24th February 1990 that the Constitution of the Association was formally adopted following its approval by the Registrar of Societies.

Amendments were made to allow the Executive Committee or the general body to form sub-committees or groupings to carry out its activities.

During the second half of 1990, following the amendments made to the MIPA Constitution at the Inaugural General Meeting, the Asian Patent Attorneys Association [APAA] Sub-committee was formed and Dato V. L. Kandan was elected as the Chairman of the said Sub-committee.

From the early days, MIPA had started building a strong bond with the Registries of Patents and Trade Marks as it was known then. The first meeting with the Registry was held on 24th November 1990. Over the years the cooperation between MIPA and MyIPO, as it is now known, has grown closer. MIPA continues in its efforts to build and enhance IP awareness amongst the general public.

In 1998, MyIPO formed the Intellectual Property Training Centre (IPTC) to take care of the IP training needs of the country. MIPA took steps to support the activities of the Centre.MIPA also played a leading role in the formation of the ASEAN Intellectual Property Association (ASEAN IPA). This and the recognition by WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization) of ASEAN IPA as a non-governmental organization are important achievements in the early history of MIPA.